Go To Search
Lone Tree Arts Center
Click to Home

Since 2006 energy efficiency and renewable energy have been among the top priorities of the Metro Mayors Caucus. That year a committee comprised of mayors convened and held a series of meetings with key representatives from the National Renewable Energy Laboratories, Xcel Energy, Johnson Controls, the Center for ReSource Conservation, the Public Utilities Commission, and the Wirth Chair at the Graduate School of Public Affairs at the University of Colorado at Denver. The committee then embarked on the drafting of a memorandum of understanding that was unanimously approved by Caucus members (See signing ceremony photo above). In the MOU (click here to download a copy) the signing jurisdictions voluntarily committed to continuing and expanding their energy efficiency and conservation efforts in a number of possible areas. A number of information sharing and technical assistance programs were planned for 2007 to facilitate signers’ honoring of the commitments within the MOU. Full Caucus meetings focused on energy efficiency have been held at NREL several times during the intervening years.


In 2010 the Metro Mayors Caucus, in partnership with the Denver Regional Council of Governments, contracted with Boulder County to participate in the Energy Efficiency Community Block Grant under the DOE’s Better Buildings program. Boulder County, Denver and Garfield County are the lead agencies under the grant. MMC and DRCOG’s role is to design and conduct a series of 9 energy efficiency workshops and a final best practices summit for local government officials, to showcase lessons learned in the Better Building program and to guide local government in the establishment of similar programs.

Nine workshops have been held so far:
  • September 7, 2011 — Promoting Energy Efficiency in Your Community: EE for Small Communities - Case Study - Rifle, Colorado - The Rifle Success Story
    • Speakers
      • Rifle Mayor Keith Lambert
      • Mike Braaten, Rifle Government Affairs Coordinator
      • Michael Langhorn, President, Rifle Economic Development Corporation & Community Champion, Sustainable Main Streets Initiative
      • Matt Sturgeon - Rifle Asst. City Manager & Planning Director
    • Agenda Packet
    • Rifle Presentation
    • NREL LEAD Buiding Presentation
  • February 9, 2012 — Promoting Energy Efficiency in Your Community: EE and PACE for Business and Commercial Buildings
  • May 9, 2012 — Solar Gardens and Power Purchase Agreements
    • Speakers
      • Joy Hughes, Solar Gardens Institute
      • Brian Waldes, Town of Breckenridge
      • Jesse Silverstein, Brownfields Foundation
      • Jaclyn Webb, XCEL
    • Handouts
    • Presentations
  • August 30, 2012 — Energy Efficiency Codes
    • Speakers
      • Dan Weed, Chief Building Official, Town of Castle Rock
      • Doug Swartz, Senior Energy Services Engineer, Fort Collins Utilities
      • Megan Cuzzolino, LEED AP, Residential Sustainability Specialist, City of Boulder
      • J.C. Martell, LEED AP, Buildings Programs, Southwest Energy Efficiency Project
    • Handouts
    • Presentations
  • November 13, 2012 — Solar Friendly Communities
  • January 30, 2013 — Net Zero Buildings
    • Speakers
      • Otto VanGeet, National Renewable Energy Laboratories
      • Gene Myers, New Town Builders
      • Norbert Klebl, GEOS Neighborhoods?
      • Other Speakers scheduled had to cancel due to illness — will be asked to present at a later time
        • Katy Bigner, FortZED Project Lead, City of Fort Collins
        • George Watt, George Watt Architects
    • Handouts
    • Presentations
  • April 17, 2013 — Colorado Energy Efficiency Summit
    • Best Practices for Local Government in Energy Efficiency
      • Keynote 
        • Governor Bill Ritter — Director, Center for the New Energy Economy, CSU (invited)
      • Economic Benefits of Energy Efficiency
        • Tom Clark, CEO, Metro Denver Economic Development Corporation
        • Dr. Howard Geller — Southwest Energy Efficiency Project
      • Public/Private Partnership in Energy Efficiency
        • Rob Osborne — Director, Government and Community Relations, XCEL
      • Local Sustainability Offices and Strategies
        • Dave Newport — Director, Environmental Center, CU Boulder
        • Bruce Hendee — Chief Sustainability Officer, City of Fort Collins
        • Adrienne Dorsey — Sustainability Coordinator, Adams County
        • Karen Hancock — Environmental Programs Supervisor, City of Aurora